A-Z Index Contact Us

Return to Current Calendar (2010-2011)
Academic Courses
Academic Programs
Academic Schedule of Dates
Academic Units
Undergraduate Programs and Courses
Faculty of Business Administration
Faculty of Education
Faculty of Engineering
Faculty of Forestry and the Forest Environment
Faculty of Health and Behavioural Sciences
Faculty of Science and Environmental Studies
Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities
Department of English
General Programs
Department of History
Department of Indigenous Learning
Department of Languages
Language Programs
Language Courses
Department of Music
Native Access Program
Interdisciplinary Programs in Northern Studies
School of Outdoor Recreation, Parks and Tourism
Department of Philosophy
Department of Political Science
Department of Sociology
Department of Visual Arts
Department of Women's Studies
Undergraduate Studies at Orillia
Faculty of Medicine
Faculty of Graduate Studies
Admission Requirements
Continuing Education and Distributed Learning
Fees 2009-2010
Financial Aid to Students
Governing Bodies, Administration and Faculty
Medals and Prizes
The University (An Introduction)
University Community
University Regulations
Previous Calendars
Summary of New Changes Made in This Calendar


Lakehead 2009-2010 Academic Units Undergraduate Programs and Courses Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities Department of Languages Language Programs Minor Programs - Native Languages
Minor Programs - Native Languages

Lakehead University offers courses in Ojibwe (Anishinaabemowin) and Cree (Inin"mowin), two of the most widely spoken Canadian Aboriginal languages. Ojibwe is spoken primarily in Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, western Quebec, and several states south of the Great Lakes, in particular Michigan, Wisconsin, and Minnesota. Cree is spoken in subarctic Canada from Alberta to Labrador.

Both languages are spoken in a number of significantly different linguistic varieties, often referred to as dialects.

Both languages are members of the Algonquian language family. Other Algonquian languages spoken in Canada include Blackfoot, Maliseet-Passamaquoddy, Mi'gmaq, and Munsee Delaware. Other Algonquian languages spoken in the United States include Menominee, Fox-Sauk-Kickapoo, Cheyenne, and others.

The term Algonquian refers specifically to the language family to which Ojibwe and Cree are assigned. The name of the language family is distinguished from the very similar term Algonquin, which refers to the Algonquin dialect of Ojibwe, spoken primarily in northwestern Quebec and northeastern Ontario.


See Requirements for Admission to Undergraduate Degree Programs in the Admission Requirements section of this Calendar.


See the University Regulations section and the Faculty of Social Sciences and Humanities Regulations section of this Calendar for conditions to enter, proceed in, and graduate from these programs.

1. Native Language Minor Program

A minimum overall average of 60% is required in three full courses in Native Languages:
(a) Ojibwe 1013/Indigenous Learning 1014 and Ojibwe 1015/Indigenous Learning 1016; or Ojibwe 1014/Indigenous Learning 1015 and Ojibwe 1016/Indigenous Learning 1017
(b) Ojibwe 2001
(c) Ojibwe 3001

See also the Faculty of Education, Department of Aboriginal Education, Native Language Instructors Diploma Program and Department of Indigenous Learning program offerings.

2. Aboriginal Languages Specialist's Certificate

There are two levels to this two-part certificate for students with an interest in linguistic analysis and research. At each level an overall average of 60% is required.

Aboriginal Languages Specialist's Certificate Part I
(a) Algonquian 1212, 1232, 2213 and 2233
(b) Native Language 3531 and 3511

Aboriginal Languages Specialist's Certificate Part II
(a) Native Language 3251, 3711, 3751, 3811 and 3813
(b) Education 1574